of Venango


Reverend David E. Betz, Board Chair.  A graduate of Franklin High School, Edinboro University and Northwest Ministry Institute.  Dave was ordained a Deacon Episcopal Church assigned to St. John’s Episcopal Church in Franklin, PA.  He was also a general contractor for 44 years.  His spouse, Susan, is a retired VP for PNC working in Trust at risk management in Oil City. Dave is one of the founding members of Emmaus Haven in 2015.  His past volunteer work also includes Chairing Helping Hands Venango County and is also a member of Shepherd’s Green Food Pantry.

Bill Buchna, Vice Chair. Current Venango County Airport Manager. Military service in the Air Force for 6 years and currently serves in the Army reserves for the past 13 years.

April Hull, Treasurer, is the Parish Administrator at St. John’s Episcopal Church in Franklin. She attends First Presbyterian Church with her husband and daughter.

Ardelle Lynn “Ittsey” Tologo, Secretary, is an employee of Venango County Human Services. She is a life-long resident of Cooperstown and a member of Oakland Twp. Fire Dept. She is also a member of St. John’s Episcopal Church and serves on their Church Board.

Verna Carson, Board Member. Verna is a member of Oakland United Methodist Church in Dempseytown. She serves as ministry leader of Celebrate Recovery in the Venango, Warren and Crawford County area.

James O. Johnson, Board Member, is a graduate of Franklin High, spent 4 years in the U.S. Air Force (1968-1972), and worked at the Chicago Pneumatic Tool Company and the PA Electric Company.  Currently retired, he serves as a Franklin City Councilman.  He is also a board member of the Franklin YMCA, Franklin Housing Authority, Oil Region Alliance, and the Heritage Advisory Committee.

Mary S. Nelson, Board Member.  A graduate of Warren Area High School in Warren, PA, she also attended Mount Union College.  Mary is a member of St. John’s Episcopal Church and serves on the Vestry Committee. Her background includes working in retail and as a Registered Medical Assistant at Wolfcreek OBGYN until her retirement.  She is widowed and has two grown children and five grandchildren.

Reverend Mark Elliston – Board Member. Pastor at Christ Episcopal Church, Oil City, PA

Bonnie Summers – Board Member. Retired Drug and Alcohol Administrator of Venango County Human Services and Former Venango County Commissioner who resides in Cranberry, PA

Joyce Frenz – Board Member – Director of Community Ministry and Outreach at Good Hope/Zion Lutheran Ministry in Oil City, PA

Christine Bingman – Board Member

Darrin Sheridan – Board Member – Resided at the Shelter. Became employed, successfully completed recovery programs and moved into his own residence.